✏️ Why You Should Start a Blog Now

✏️ Why You Should Start a Blog Now

My thoughts on why starting a blog in 2021 is a great idea!

Starting a blog might seem like an outdated thing to do, well... at least that's what I thought up until recently. It turns out that writing a blog is actually quite popular nowadays, especially in the developer community.

0001_meme.png

✅ Pros:

  • Expand your online presence
  • Connect with like-minded people
  • Solidify the concepts you have learnt
  • Help convey your ideas into words
  • Develop your writing skills
  • Something you can show others and look back on

❌ Cons:

  • Takes time

⚡️ Summary:

In my opinion, the pros heavily outweigh the cons.

For most of us, we have the extra time to spare to put towards doing something productive like this. Whether it's those 10 minutes scrolling on Instagram or the random YouTube video that pops up, it all adds up! Why not?

Honestly, I tried to come up with one good reason that I shouldn't start a blog, and after looking at the benefits I couldn't think of one!

🚀 Getting Started

Hashnode has made it easier, now more than ever, to start a developer blog...for free! The platform is focused on building a community for developers and is packed with loads of useful features. That's why I've chosen Hashnode as my blogging platform, and I would recommend it to anyone starting out.

Document don't create

This is a principle that I think we can all implement.

It basically means that we should focus on documenting the work we are doing and sharing this. This is because creating new content from scratch is actually very difficult. Remember that there is always an audience of people who are interested in your work. But you can only reach them if you are documenting your journey!

🎯 Goals:

My goal is to write a blog post once a week, so keep an eye out here!

📚 Book to read:

"Show Your Work" by Austin Kleon


🤩 Hi, I'm Imaad

Nice to meet you!

I'm a full-stack developer/full-time student based in the UK. Although I'm familiar with app and web development, I'm constantly adapting to learn new technologies. Most importantly, I enjoy creating cool projects!

This blog will follow my journey as a developer and include things that I hope provide value. Hope to see you around!

🤝 Connect with Me

🗂 My Projects